Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

So, what began as a coaching session about my focus (or lack thereof) on writing, ended up a complete meltdown about the pace and fullness of my life and the unsustanability of it all.

It made me realise that significant changes need to be made. Changes that C and I have been mentioning on and off for a while now without doing much about it.

I don’t think we’ve ever really sat down together (or even separately) and considered the significant changes having a young family brings. I mean, yes, in some ways it’s obvious. The sleep deprivation is obvious, the lack of social life is obvious, the numerous trips to the crappy plastic playground instead of nice cafe is obvious but what is really beginning to register, is the money you lose and the trappings it brings. We aren’t materialistic and in fact, often you have to force us to spend money. However, C always had it in his sights that our mortgage would be repaid by the end of this year, that we’d have bought another property (investment or otherwise) and that we’d always have one holiday overseas a year.

Uh-uh. Noooooooo way. They are the things that we just can’t achieve nor sustain and getting his head around this is hard for C.

This is all apropos of the fact that I’ve been working like a dog (and earning enough to keep these goals of C in sight). Putting in full time hours PLUS looking after the boy(s) 3 days a week PLUS traipsing out in the evenings to teach 3 nights a week…..and I’m done. I wonder why I can’t find the time to write??!!

So, after a productive and constructive coaching session with my mother (she’s an executive coach so it wasn’t just a tea and chat!), I had coffee with my manager yesterday afternoon and laid it out for her. So in a few weeks, there will be many welcomed changes round here. A is beside himself. He struggles when I’m not here in the evenings so it’s a win-win all round.

Except for the bank. And our purses. But they’ll cope.

0 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

