New Year’s quiz

I found this on this wonderful site. She is one funny and very bright chick who says it as it is. I appreciate her honesty and her feistiness (sp?). Anyway, I thought I’d give it a go. I feel self-indulgent (stupid I know) but  hey, it’s an excellent opportunity to reflect on what has been in order to get a better idea of what one wants to be….

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Met with a publisher about our book, had a C-section, discovered podcasts, started considering my spiritual position and suffered from post-natal depression.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Didn’t make any but have definitely made some for 2009. I feel more inspired this year. I was distracted by terrible morning sickness last new year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

A good friend lost her 10-month old son. It was the most tragic thing I have experienced.

5. What countries did you visit?

Mmmmm. That would be none aside from the country Sleep Deprivation which sucks. Very inhospitable and difficult to get around.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Greater creativity in my life. My own and appreciating others. I thought you had to be ‘talented’ to appreciate creative pursuits but I’m thinking the creative process has merits to enjoy just for it’s own sake.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

17 July. Gave birth to second son.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Giving birth to my second son and being contacted by a publisher about potentially publishing our book.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Anti-depressants.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

See above.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

iPhone and coffee machine.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My husband’s. He kept the whole family above water after my son was born while I flailed.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Maybe my own to be honest. I need greater patience and need to practice deep breathing more regularly.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Home improvements – new kitchen and AMAZING built-in coffee machine.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I’d love to say the birth of my second child but that moment is too infused with trepidation and raw fear. So, I’d have to say, new coffee machine – how shallow is that. Actually, the election of Barak Obama. I have to say it gave me new found hope – the audacity of it.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Electric Eel (as Archie calls it)- MGMT

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier. I’m no longer suffering from the early pregnancy sickness blues.
b) thinner or fatter? thinner. I was pregnant last year but only just. In fact, come to think of it, I’m not much thinner which is kind of embarrassing.
c) richer or poorer? I think richer. Cam’s business has done well and I’m earning better money.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Reading. I had a hiatus due to the thick fog of sleep deprivation. Exercise. I’m inherently lazy but it makes me feel so good. Meditation. Never done it regularly and I think it would have helped me immensely this past year.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Get upset and angry about my non-sleeping newborn.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

At home with the entire family pre impending incarceration of my father-in-law. It was wonderful – extremely joyous and relaxing at the same time.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

Yes, with my beautiful Sascha.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Same old Sex and the City but I must admit I developed a bit of a liking for Girls of the Playboy Mansion – that show blows me away…who the hell would live like that?!?

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No. Although I met this real nob of a guy on New Years Eve that I disliked immediately. Hadn’t felt like that for a while.

24. What was the best book you read?

Tough one for me….I really enjoyed Anne Lamott’s Operating Instructions and Nam Le’s The Boat. It’s a struggle to even remember what I read. Isn’t that embarrassing?

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Probably jazz as a genre. I’m really keen. And Amy Winehouse – for too long I thought Whinehouse so avoided her. I love her album.

26. What did you want and get?

The most beautiful classic French cut smokey quartz ring that cost too much. It was the most beautiful Christmas present from my boys.

27. What did you want and not get?

Honestly, nothing. Isn’t that great?

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Hardly saw any which happens when you have babies but maybe The Bank Job (very enjoyable) or Salute (reflective and interesting).

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 31 and I had a gathering of nearest and dearest. I was pregnant though so it meant no alcohol – terribly boring on that front…..

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

More sleep.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Uhh??? What’s that? I got a fringe, does that count?

32. What kept you sane?

Podcasts and my husband.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Barack Obama

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The American election

35. Who did you miss?

My dear friend living in the cold of Scotland whom I haven’t seen for years and who had her first baby this year.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Michael, my friend’s boyfriend. My new manager. The lovely girls from daycare.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

That everything passes – the good and the bad. It’s important to hold on to some things and let others go.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“If I ever feel better remind me to spend some more time with you.” – If I ever feel better by Phoenix

0 Responses to “New Year’s quiz”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

